Covering Washington politics. From our vantage point. One day a time.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Stevie Wonder, Meryll Streep among 2014 Medal of Freedom Award Recipients

The White House announced the 2014 Medal of Freedom award recipients that include the likes of legendary dancer and founder of the Dance Theater of Harlem, Alvin Ailey, American music composer, song writer Stevie Wonder; actress and Academy Award winner Meryll Streep, and news anchor Tom Brokaw.

The nominees will be honored at the White House on November 24th.

Other nominees include author Isabel Allende,  James Chaney, Andrew Goodman, and Michael Schwerner , golf legend and pioneer, Mr. Charles Siffordphysicists and scientist Mildred Dresselhaus, Congressman John Dingell, human rights advocate Ethel Kennedy; writer and activist Suzan HarjoAbner Mikva, congresswoman Patsy Takemoto Mink (R-Hawaii); Mexican-born House of Representative and Congressional Hispanic Caucus founder Edward Roybal (posthumous);  economist Robert Solow; theatre composer Stephen Sondheimaward-winning actress, producer, best-selling author and social activist Marlo Thomas.

The presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor awarded by a U.S. president recognizing extraordinary work and talent.

Said President Obama, “I look forward to presenting these nineteen bold, inspiring Americans with our Nation’s highest civilian honor.  From activists who fought for change to artists who explored the furthest reaches of our imagination; from scientists who kept America on the cutting edge to public servants who help write new chapters in our American story, these citizens have made extraordinary contributions to our country and the world.”

Last year's list of recipients can be seen here.

No comments:

Post a Comment