Covering Washington politics. From our vantage point. One day a time.

Friday, March 29, 2013

2013 White House Easter Egg Roll

The Easter Egg Roll will take place Monday, April 1st, on the South Lawn of the White House and is focused on promoting health and wellness with the theme, “Be Healthy, Be Active, Be You!”

The event will feature live music, sports courts, cooking stations, storytelling and, of course, Easter egg rolling. The entire Easter Egg Roll event, including all of the headliner music acts and Storytime Stage readers, will be broadcast live on

Be Healthy! Be You!
Talent Line-up This year’s special guest is Robby Novak, better known as Kid President. Jordin Sparks, Austin Mahone, Coco Jones, Sesame Street, and The Wanted will perform on the Rockin’ Egg Roll Stage. Jessica Sanchez will sing the National Anthem. The Official Emcee of the 2013 White House Easter Egg Roll is Tommy McFly, who will introduce acts on the music stage on the ellipse. The United States Marine Corps Band will perform American classics.

Readers on the Storytime Stage will be NASCAR’s Danica Patrick, Minnesota Viking Adrian Peterson, Elmo, Abby, Gordon and Rosita from Sesame Street, the full cast of Super Sprowtz, The Wanted, and actress Quvenzhan√© Wallis. Chefs Flynn McGarry, B. Smith, Ina Garten, Spike Mendelsohn, Katie Chin, Anne Burrell, and the White House Chefs will prepare healthy eating demonstrations in the Play with your Food station.

In the Eggtivity Zone, Dr. Jayne Greenberg, Cornell McClellan, Donna Richardson Joyner, Curtis Pride and Shellie Pfohl will represent the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition as players and coaches from professional sports teams teach kids how to play sports and show kids easy, fun ways to stay active and fit.

Athletes participating in the Eggtivity Zone include: Katrina Adams (US Tennis Association) Lorenzo Alexander (Arizona Cardinals) Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards) Anquan Boldin (Baltimore Ravens)Lauren Crandall (US Field Hockey) Jill Craybas (US Tennis Association) Victor Cruz (New York Giants) Dwayne De Rosario (DC United) Rachel Dawson (US Field Hockey) Ajai Dhadwal (US Field Hockey) Derrick Dockery (Dallas Cowboys) Ray Gaddis (Philadelphia Union)  (Philadelphia Union)Nene Hilario (Washington Wizards) William Holt (US Field Hockey) Liezel Huber (US Tennis Association) Doc Jacobs (VETSports) Denis Kudla (US Tennis Association) Kari Miller (US Sitting Volleyball) Brett Keisel (Pittsburgh Steelers) Jennifer Kessy (US Volleyball) Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx) Lewis Neal (DC United)  (Washington Wizards) John Orozco (US Gymnastics) Danica Patrick (NASCAR) Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings) Clark Rachfal (US Para Cycling) Antwaan Randle-El (Pittsburgh Steelers) April Ross (US Volleyball) Marcelo Saragosa (DC United) Etan Thomas (Atlanta Hawks) Brian Vahaly (US Tennis Association) Robert Vartughian (Philadelphia Union) John Wall (Washington Wizards) Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx) Candice Wiggins (Minnesota Lynx)Shaenon Williams (Philadelphia Union)

[Even More to Hop About]

The Hop To It Stage offers a variety of interactive dance, sports, and other physical fun, including the Chicago Ultimate Tumblers, Alvin Ailey Dance Troop, KidTribe and The Ohmies.   The Ellipse will have an entertainment stage and guests can enjoy musical acts, activities, and a real NASCAR racecar as they prepare to enter the South Lawn. DJs WSC Zumba, Willy WOW! And LITTLE BEAT THE #1 CHINCHILLA, DJ Mel, and Tommy McFly will be on the Ellipse welcoming guests in, spinning music, and getting guests excited about the event.   This year’s costume characters can be found HERE. Full List of Events With the “Be Healthy, Be Active, Be You!” theme, all of the activities on the South Lawn promote healthy and active living. The activities include obstacle courses, yoga, dancing, playing sports with professional athletes, and of course, the traditional egg roll.  

[Additional Information about the 2013 Easter Egg Roll]
More than 30,000 people from all 50 states and the District of Columbia have received tickets to the event. For the fifth year in a row, tickets were distributed online.   Members of the public from all over the country had the opportunity to enter an online lottery for a chance to win tickets to the event. More than 300,000 tickets were requested via the online lottery, and guests from all 50 states and the District of Columbia were selected as winners.   This year’s event will begin at 7:30 AM and end at 6:45 PM.  

More at


No comments:

Post a Comment